MASCA Scholarships


Each year, the Middle Atlantic States Correctional Association (MASCA) awards academic scholarships to individuals pursuing a degree beyond secondary education in the criminal justice field. MASCA presents annual scholarships in memory of those members who dedicated their lives to the improvement of the justice system and consistently advocated the need for the exchange of ideas for growth and change among member's states.
The scholarships are named in honor of Mr. Dennis R. Martin and Mr. Henry H. Alexander.

Dennis Martin was a long-standing MASCA Board member dedicated to the MASCA mission, especially to continuing the tradition of awarding scholarships to assist those advancing in their corrections careers. He held many MASCA offices, including President of the MASCA Board of Trustees, MASCA Scholarship Committee Chair, and was serving as MASCA Board Vice-President at the time of his death in 2010.
Dennis Martin

Henry Alexander is retired after a 40-year career with the Maryland Division of Parole and Probation and is a long-standing MASCA Board member. He is the only person to hold the office of MASCA President for three (3) terms. He was named the MASCA President Emeritus in 2013. He has also served as a MASCA Conference Program Committee Chair, MASCA Historian, and is currently the MASCA Scholarship Committee Chair.

Henry Alexander

Applicant must be an active MASCA Member, Affiliate Member, Student Member, or one of the following relatives of a member: spouse, child, step-child, grandchild, step-grandchild, niece, nephew, or an individual whose legal guardian is a MASCA Member. Additionally, ALL applicants must have at least one semester of education remaining at the time the scholarship is awarded and must be pursuing a degree that can translate into a career in the field of criminal justice. If you are not currently a member, CLICK HERE to join MASCA now and make yourself immediately eligible. Scholarship deadline is 4/30/2024.

2024 scholarships applications are now being accepted - CLICK HERE
Scholarships will be awarded at the MASCA Conference in Hershey, PA in June 2024.


2023 Dennis R. Martin Scholarship Winner:
Damaris Slawik

Wilmington University

2023 Henry Alexander Scholarship Winner:
Samantha Holmburg

Neumann University

2023 Dennis R. Martin Scholarship Winner:
Ja'Tyra Smith

Liberty University

2022 Dennis R. Martin Scholarship Winner:

Devyn DeLuca

Rowan College at Burlington County

2022 Henry Alexander Scholarship Winner:
DaMarea Atkinson

Mount St. Mary's University


2021 Scholarship Winners:
Alyssa Zavada

Rowen College - New Jersey

John Paul Restrepo

Kean University - New Jersey


2020 Scholarship Winner:
Kelsey E. Herbert

Attending Stevenson University- Maryland
2019 Scholarship Winners:
Amanda Smith
Attending Rowan University- NJ.

Kelsey Herbert

Attending Stevenson University- MD.
2018 Scholarship Winners:

Karina Barstow- Moosup, Ct. 
Attending- University of Maine- Fort Kent

Michael Phillips- Bucks County, Pa. 
Attending- DeSales University for a Masters in Criminal Justice

Helen Hull-Maple shade, NJ
Attending Rowan University as a Criminal Justice Major
2017 Scholarship Winner:

Aaron Mulitsch- A Criminal Justice major at East Stroudsburg University. 
His goal is to work in Juvenile Probation. Congratulations to Aaron!!!

Brenna Dworek- from Jefferson County Adult Probation & Parole Department (Pa.). Ms. Dworek attends Slippery Rock University (Pa.) and is focusing her studies in the area of Criminology and Criminal Justice. Congratulations to Brenna!!!

Click here to see our past scholarship winners.